Greetings from The Aero Experience Team


The Aero Experience is a celebration of Midwest aviation and aerospace achievement. We invite you to join us as we explore the treasures of Midwest aviation through first-hand experiences. Our contributors take turns flying lead, and we are always looking for new destinations. Check in with The Aero Experience frequently to see where we will land today, and then go out and have your own aero experiences!

Blue skies,

Carmelo Turdo, Mark Nankivil and Fred Harl - The Aero Experience Team

Wednesday, September 4, 2013

AirVenture Cup Races: Gathering at Mount Vernon and First Race

By Mark Nankivil and Leo Cachat

Mt. Vernon Outland Airport was the host for this year's AirVenture Cup cross country race held on July 28, the opening weekend of EAA AirVenture Oshkosh 2013.  The Aero Experience was there the previous day to capture the drama of the racers gathering on the ramp and visitors checking out these unique aircraft.  On Saturday, July 27, a shorter 100 mile race was held in which the participants raced to the tip of Rend Lake and then returned to the airport.  The weather was beautiful with highs in the mid to upper 70's, and the sun came out from the clouds to make great lighting for these beautifully painted, colorful airplanes. Not all the aircraft present took part in the race, but the ones who did put on an impressive display as the winds turned gusty before the planes returned to Mt. Vernon Outland Airport to land.
Special thanks to Airport Manager Chris Collins for giving us tremendous access to the field and the EAA for putting on such a great event. 

Here is a select list of participants in the 2013 AVC Race and the airplanes they are flying:

Rene Dugas in the #007 Turbine Legend


Marty Abbott in the #104 Turbine Legend


Lee Behel in the #5 Pereira GP 5

Keith Phillips in the #10 Swearingen SX-300


Alan Crawford in the #21 Lancair Legacy



John Wilson in the #42 Swearingen SX-300



Jim & Gwenn Cianci in the #60 Swearingen SX-300





Keith Walljasper in the # 80 Seawind

Jay Behel in the #4 Pereira GP-4


Marc Quinn in the # 38 Lancair 360


Brent Bourgeois in the #61 Velocity RG


Steve Hammer in the #73 Glasair IT-D




Bruce Hammer in the #91 Glasair IT-D

Klaus Savier & Jenny Tackabury  in the #111 Long EZ


Jeff Mallia in the #46 Cozy III



Rich & Heather Lamb in the #93 Long EZ



Mike Estu in the #115 Glasair I-TD



Kevin Phelps & Joe Conlon in the #11 RV-7A


Robert Axsom in the #71 RV-6A


Trevor Smith & Jim Huff in the #77 RV-6

Jeff Barnes in the #411 RV-6


Tony Crawford in the #49 RV-4


Jerry Peck in the #3 Long EZ

Sam Hoskins in the #22 Quickie Q200

Leif Johnson in the #25 Vari Ez

David Adams in the #83 Long Ez



No comments: