Greetings from The Aero Experience Team


The Aero Experience is a celebration of Midwest aviation and aerospace achievement. We invite you to join us as we explore the treasures of Midwest aviation through first-hand experiences. Our contributors take turns flying lead, and we are always looking for new destinations. Check in with The Aero Experience frequently to see where we will land today, and then go out and have your own aero experiences!

Blue skies,

Carmelo Turdo, Mark Nankivil and Fred Harl - The Aero Experience Team

Friday, September 6, 2013

EAA AirVenture 2013: AirVenture Cup Racers Arrive

Fred Harl and Carmelo Turdo
The 16th EAA AirVenture Cup Race was held Sunday, July 28, 2013 at Mount Vernon Outland Airport following a weekend Open House (see previous post on The Aero Experience).  The racers left Mount Vernon Sunday morning and many later arrived at the EAA AirVenture Oshkosh grounds in the afternoon.   The race was flown from Mount Vernon, IL to Waupaca, WI with turn points at Dixon, IL and Wisconsin Rapids, WI. (Racing Results). 

We present the scene as the racers arrived and parked in a special section of grass near the Homebuilts (see complete program here):

Rene Dugas in the #007 Turbine Legend


Lee Behel in the #5 Pereira GP 5


Keith Phillips in the #10 Swearingen SX-300

Robert Logan in the #18 Lancair Legacy


Alan Crawford in the #21 Lancair Legacy

John Wilson in the #42 Swearingen SX-300

Charles Bracken & Ernie Chauvin in the #50 Lancair Legacy

Jim & Gwenn Cianci in the #60 Swearingen SX-300

John Anderson in the #39 F1 Rocket


Keith Walljasper in the # 80 Seawind


Jay Behel in the #4 Pereira GP-4


Brent Bourgeois in the #61 Velocity RG


Klaus Savier & Jenny Tackabury  in the #111 Long EZ



Jeff Mallia in the #46 Cozy III


Rich & Heather Lamb in the #93 Long EZ


Mike Estu in the #115 Glasair I-TD



Kevin Phelps & Joe Conlon in the #11 RV-7A


Jeff Barnes in the #411 RV-6



Leif Johnson in the #25 Vari Ez



Bob & Elise Bennett in the #193 Beech S35



No comments: